Tuesday, May 14, 2013
Thursday, May 9, 2013
Free Write 5/9
Today is kind of a good but sucky day. It's good because it's my Friday because I won't have class tomorrow and I don't have any homework due anymore and I get to take a nap. It sucks because it's raining and because I'm not doing anything in any of my classes but review for finals, and I need the review but it's really hard to want to go to class when I know we're not doing anything. I'm a little excited though because after class I'm going to lunch with my friend Alyssa. I've been really wanting Mexican lately and that's what were getting. I start my new job tomorrow and I'm pretty nervous because we'll be pretty busy and it's my first day. Then Saturday after I get off I have to drive to Houston to go to a graduation and I don't work Sunday or Monday then I will have finals week which sucks but doesn't at the same time and then it's all over. Then I'm just going to be working alllllll summer at Dog Days. Which really kind of sucks, but I'll make a lot of money so I'm okay with it. I'm also working with my two best friends so that should make it even better.
Tuesday, May 7, 2013
Thursday, April 18, 2013
Tuesday, April 2, 2013
Free Write 4/2
Well today is probably not going to be a good day. I have a test in math and psych. and I didn't study for the math at all and barely studied for the psych. Sooo that's no good. I feel like I'll be okay in math because I've understood what what going on in this chapter for the most part, and then I'll just cram before my psych test which they say you shouldn't do but I always do and it usually works for me. And I'm starving. I didn't have anything this morning but a redbull which is the only thing keeping me awake since I had to get up extra early this morning. I feel that this is going to be a good week overall because I don't have school tomorrow and I can have a lazy day, then Thursday is Sarah's birthday, and Cassie is coming down here and we're all going out and it's going to be a blasty blast, and that's basically all I"m looking forward to so this week better go by fast. I went shopping yesterday and blew all my money, which was awesome, but now kind of sucks because I have things I actually need to buy and I'm going to have to spend money that I don't really want to be spending. But I guess that's okay because I haven't been shopping in a long time, and it was well deserved. Plus I'm working like every weekend now, so I'll be slowly but surely making more money. Then once I'm out of school for the summer I'll go back to working all the time and having no life but having tons of money. This weather today is depressing because it's spring and it needs to stop. The forecast for the rest of the week doesn't look so bad but this day just needs to be over with. What I reallllly don't want to do is come back tonight for my A&P class and lab. It was probably the dumbest thing ever for me to schedule that class so late. I have my first three classes in the morning and then I'm happy because I feel like I'm done for the day, but wait, I have to come back at 5:30 and it just really puts a damper on my day. But the highlight of my day today is going to be the awesome nap I'll take when I get home until I have to get up and come back here.
Tuesday, March 26, 2013
Free Write - 3/26
Well I don't really like commenting on peoples things because I guess I'm not very good at it, so I'm free writing I suppose. What about? No clue. I'm tired this morning, like always. I think I'll probably be tired for as long as I live honestly. I've come to terms with it I guess. I did have a pretty good morning though. I had to get up a litter earlier then normal becuase I had to be at school to print some stuff off. So I had to wake up at 6:45 sleep for ten more minutes get out of bed at 6:55 then I made some breakfast, which is a big deal becuase I never have time for breakfast on school days anymore, so that was a plus. Also drank a redbull while I got ready and that helped a lot. Through on some sweats and left. When I got to my car I was a little bummed because if was covered in frost so I had to scrape that off which is never fun, and my car didn't get fully warm until halfway through my drive on Glenstone, but that's whateves at this point. I got all my things printed off, now I'm just ready for the rest of this morning to be over so I can go back to my bed and sleep until I have to come back here at 5. Which I reallllly reallly reallllly don't want to do. I have a lab today and those always suck. Big time. And last thursdays class was cancled so we'll be rushing to get caught back up on the notes. I'm alright with this I suppose becuase once class is over I get to go home and do whatever I want becuase I don't have school the next day. By whatever I want I mean, sit on the couch and watch tv. It's some pretty exciting stuff. I painted my nails two days ago, and they have yet to chip. This is a HUGE deal becuase my nail polish always ends up chipping after about a day, so I'm pretty happy about this. I have a cold again for the third time this winter, it's really starting to get on my last nerve. I never get really sick like the flu or anything, but I always, never fails, get a cold. Sucks. I don't even get the flu shot, and I still don't get the flu! My immune system is just a champ I suppose, but not when it comes to the common cold. I even get them in the summer. Weird. I'm excited to work this weekend because I'm going to blow all the tips I make and go shopping Monday. That is perfectly fine with me becuase I haven't gone shopping in so long it's not even funny. And that's kind of a big deal becuase I have a problem when it comes to buying things. When I go to a store I just have to buy something, it's kind of a probelm. So now anytime I go anywhere and know I shouldn't buy anything I just leave my purse in the car, and every single time I find something in the store that I want soo bad. It's a rough life really..Monday, March 25, 2013
"A Film Unfinshed" - Alyssa Vandviver
Alyssa Vandiver
ENG Comp 101-135
Mr. Neuburger
25 March 2013
Essay
“A Film Unfinished”
“A Film Unfinished” is a moving documentary about the Nazis
staging the Jewish people in different
scenes in the Ghetto to be used for propaganda. The films were taken during
WWII in the Warsaw Ghetto. The Warsaw Ghetto was the largest Ghetto built by
the Nazis. There were over 400,000 Jews in a 1.3 square mile radius. For a long
time the films were just thought as documentation and no one knew that
the films were staged. It wasn’t until recently that a film that was unfinished
had showed the Nazi soldiers filming and
doing re-takes was discovered. The Nazis filmed these to prove that the Ghetto
wasn’t a bad thing; they were used as propaganda
to show that the Ghetto life wasn’t bad. They showed the Jews dancing, playing
games, talking, and going about their days. They made the films look as
realistic as possible. In one scene they even fired gun shots in to the air to
cause panic. They would do as many retakes as possible to make the scene seem
as real as possible. They would shoot from different angles over and over
again. The retakes showed that everything was staged and unreal. The Nazis made
the Ghetto look like a nice place for the Jews when in reality they were so
cramped they had to step over dead bodies just walking down the streets. The
Nazis were starving the Jews in the Ghetto. They were so cramped that there was
nowhere for people to walk without being next to someone else. The films showed
the Jews happy when they were actually starving, scared, and cramped. After the
Nazis were finished with the Jews in the Ghetto they were sent to concentration camps where many died. When the
film with all the retakes was finally found it had shown what life was actually
like for the Jewish people in the community, it also proved how far the Nazis
would go to change the minds of others to make what they were doing seem
ethical and to get the country to stand behind them.
Monday, March 18, 2013
Survivor Testimony
Alyssa
Vandiver
ENG
Comp 102-118
Mr.
Neuburger
18
March 2013
Survivor
Testimony
Edith
Coliver
Edith Coliver was born July 26, 1922
in Karlsruhe, Germany. At the time Karlsruhe was the capital of Barden, which is
no longer a state. The town she lived in was a small town, and she lived in a
close Jewish community. Edith lived a peaceful middle class life. Her father,
Fritz Simon, was very conservative, and her mother, Hedwig Simon, was an
orthodox Jew. Coliver was very close with her grandmother, Michelle. Coliver was
the oldest of three children. She had two younger brothers, Harold who was born
in 1929 and Ernest Robert who was born in 1928. She lived in a large house
growing up with two other families. Edith Colivers family had been in Germany
for over three hundred years. She grew up Kosher and her family had a cook whom
she loved. Her family lived on the bottom floor. She recalled her gym teacher
living above her and remembers when articles would come out about the Jews the
teacher first thought it was ridiculous, then as time went on he started to
think what the media said was true until he eventually wouldn’t speak to Coliver
and her family. In public school everything about the Arian Race was drilled in
to their heads. After 1937 Colliver wasn’t allowed to attend public school
anymore. At age elven she was well aware of what was going on with the war. She
didn’t have to ask her parents about what was going on. In 1937 a lot of changes
started, she was not able to go to school again so her parents sent her to
England for schooling. After only of year of being there and enjoying herself,
Edith Coliver’s father told her she had to go home because they were leaving to
go to the United States. In June of 1938 Coliver got her visa and in August she
and her family left for the United States. After getting to the States Coliver
moved to San Francisco and attended school at Berkley. After the war Edith had a
hard time relating to people her age, she felt strange around them like she had
nothing to talk about except the death of the ones they once knew.
Survivor Testimony
Alyssa
Vandiver
ENG
Comp 102-118
Mr.
Neuburger
18
March 2013
Survivor Testimony
Malka Klin Baran
Malka Baran was born in Warsaw,
Poland on January 30, 1927. Her original name was Malka Klin. Malka had two
sisters and three brothers. After Malka was a year old she moved to Czestochowa,
Poland where she lived for the next fourteen years of her life. Growing up she
had a simple childhood, and came from a Jewish family that didn’t really practice
their religion. Most of the changes started happening in 1929 when rules were
given to all the Jews, she did not go to school and her family now worked for
the Germans. In 1941 Baran, her brother, and her father were all separated from
her mother and they never saw her again. They were all taken to a work camp,
soon after her brother and father were shot and killed. After this happened
Malka didn’t remember anything until 1943 when Baran was sent to a
concentration camp where she survived until 1945 when the Jews were liberated. She
loved children, and like working with them so after the war she worked with
children who were displaced. She met her future husband who became her friend. He
moved to the United States and she moved to Israel shortly after. She was
eventually married and moved to the United States where she lived in Brooklyn.
Tuesday, March 5, 2013
Free Write 3/5
I really can't believe I'm here right now because when I woke up this morning I basically decided I was skipping school today. But then I laid there for a few more minutes and said to myself no, I have to go. So here I am. But it's really amazing because usually when I have those battles with myself not going to school wins. I don't know why I pick early classes because I'm not a morning person at all. I guess I just like to get them out of the way with so then I can go home and take a nap. Next year I won't be able to do an 8:30 class because I'll be driving from the Lake to Lebanon so I'll shoot for 10 or so. I'm so sick of school though, I'm about ready to call it quits and go to hair school... Seriously. But I won't. Because I suck at doing hair really.. I'm excited for tonight because I don't have school on Wednesday so I basically get to do whatever I want. But I have no money, at all, so whatever I do has to be free, or I have to con someone in to paying for me. I think I'm going to clean my room today when I get home. I really don't want to do that because just looking at the mess makes me want to cry. It's a wreck. There's seriously three weeks worth of clean clothes on the floor. That's going to take me forever and a day to hang up and put away. If my mom saw it she'd probably faint and die. Not kidding. I could seriously use a red bull this morning, but I didn't get one. I'd say I'll get one after but I probably shouldn't since I want to take a nap, and that stuff makes me bounce off the walls. I'm soooooo excited for spring break it's not even funny. Even though I'm not going anywhere cool.
Thursday, February 14, 2013
Free Write 2/14
Tired today, as usual. I should probably just stop writing that in these post because it's always a given that I'm tired. It's 8:30 in the morning. But this one really is my fault because I stayed up watching Harry Potter last night because I'm a nerd... and so yeah, that's that basically. I've been watching them all lately because Henry's on some kind of Harry Potter kick, and wants to watch all the movies. Lucky for him he gets to sleep in in the mornings, but I'm here tired. As usual. I'm really ready just for the first half of this day to be over because I'm going home tonight and going to see Safe Haven which I'm soooo excited forrrrrrrr. Really. And I'm not even excited to see it just because it comes out on Valentines day. I would see it if it came out on a Tuesday in May, because I read the book and now I want to watch the movie. The fact that it is out on Valentines day just makes it better. I don't understand why people have to hate on this day so much. Even if you are single you still have family you could show love for. They're just bitter I suppose. Sucks for them. I love this day. Not even because I do have a valentine, but because my mom always gets me a gift and some candy, and my dad always buys me and mom flowers. So see, you don't really need a valentine on valentines day, you have your parents. Unless you don't have your parents, in that case, I'm sorry. But even then you could have your dog or something. I love my dog. And if you don't have a dog then you should sort out your priorities and get one. Because they're awesome, and they'll always be your valentine.
Tuesday, February 12, 2013
Free Write 2/12
So toady as usual I do not want to be here... At all. I don't know why I picked early classes when I'm clearly not a morning person. But I just like getting them done and out of the way I guess. Still though, I'm sick and I'm tired. So all I want to do is go home and sleep. This is like my fourth week of having this stupid cold and it's seriously annoying. I'm really just ready for these next two days to fly by because Thursday I get to go see Safe Haven. I read the book and now I'm going to see the movie and I'm sooo excitttteeddd. Then Saturday I'm working at the lake and it's the pub crawl so hopefully I make some good money.
Tuesday, February 5, 2013
Free Write 2/5
Okay so, this should be a pretty good week. I have redbull this morning to get me through my first few classes, then I can take a nap when I get back and I'll just have A&P and my lab. Thats no fun but tonight I can do whatever because I won't have school tomorrow. Then tomorrow I'm going to the zoo. This is a pretty big deal for me because I'm an animal freak.. Really. It's kind of embarrassing. Makes me mad the zoo cost 8 dollars though. But it'll be so worth it when I get there. I've been wanting to go since I've moved to Springfield. I just hope it's not way too cold because I hate cold weather. Wednesday night will pretty much suck because I have two test on Thursday and I'll need to study all night, and then study all day Thursday too. But once those are finished I won't have to worry for a while. So really this week won't be that awesome, the zoo is about the only good thing. But that out weights all the bad stuff. And I get to sleep in tomorrow which is always a good thing. And I have redbull this morning which is the bomb. This stuff seriously works. I like coffee but it just takes so much time in the morning, and that is time that I don't have. And it doesn't work half as well as this stuff. Only down side is that it probably works too well because it makes me have so much energy that it's hard for me to even sit still. That's better then falling asleep though. And I always end up falling asleep if I'm in a class where I'm just listening to my teacher talk.
Thursday, January 31, 2013
Free Write 1/31
So today has not been going well so far. I'm only running on three hours of sleep, sore from working out, woke up late, didn't have much breakfast, and I ended up being at school almost late so I didn't get a good parking spot. My mom gave me this electric ice scraper that's supposed to heat up slowly and melt the ice and I was pretty excited to use it on my car today because it was super frozen but I plugged it in and it didn't do anything. I'm pretty dissapointed. So I had to use a manual little ice scraper and stand out there and scrape ice of of my windows and it was freezing. And my hair froze because it was still wet. Then I got back in my car and got ready to leave and by this time I was already late, but my engine was warmed up but my car was still freezing and the windshild wasn't defrosting so I was like what the hack, then I looked and my air was turned all the way to cold. That tells you how sucky Missouri weather is. Two days ago I had to use my cool air, and today I'm scraping ice off my car. Freakin sucks. I love Missouri don't get me wrong, but I hate hate hate hate hate hate hate cold weather. Hate it. And I'm tired. Really really really tired. I almost skipped today and slept but I'm here. I cannot wait until 12:45 so I can go home and take a long much needed nap. That's really all I'm looking forward to today. A&P is going to suck tonight becuase Thursdays are like my Fridays.. so the last thing I want to do is go back to that class at 5:30 and sit there until 6:45 but you gotta do what you gotta do. And I'm still fighting this stupid cold. It's been like two weeks. It's a little better now, but not by much. I'm starting to wish I would have broght my pop tart with me instead of leaving it in the car because I know I'll be hungry in about 30 minutes. Tuesday, January 29, 2013
Free write 1/29
So today I'm so tired it's not even funny. I only got about three hours of sleep because I was up all night coughing. It sucked. So I'm ready to just get this first part of the day over with so I can go home and take a nap and not worry about anything until I get back here at 5:30 which sucks but it's whatever. I also need to remember to print my lab and notes, so I'll probably need to get here a little early. I wanted to stop and get a redbull this morning and I even left early but I was thinking to myself noo better not I wont have enough time to get a good spot, so I didn't and I got here at 8:10 still plenty of time to get a redbull and a parking spot but oh well. Saving money I suppose. I really can't wait to go home this weekend to do laundry. Which sounds weird, because laundry sucks but I'd rather do it at home for free then use up all my quarters at my apartment. Because that really sucks. The super bowl is also this weekend and since I don't have class on Mondays I can stay at the lake and go to a party. Which I really don't even care about the game I just like the food. I never watch NFL and could care less about it, I usually just pick the team with the cooler name or whos jersey colors I like more. For this super bowl I'll probably go with the Ravens because that's a way better name then 49ers. That is just dumb. What is scary, or tough about 49? Probably nothing,. Ravens aren't very tough either because it's just a bird but it is a little creepy. So Ravens win. I also just like the commercials.
Tuesday, January 22, 2013
Free Write - 1/22
So I'm trying to find a puppy to give to my paretns. Even though I know my dad doesn't want one my mom will love it. I just have to find a lab. We've always had two but now that ones gone we need another. It kind of sucks because mom only wants a lab and those are freaking expensive, so I'll have to wait until I can save up enough for one. Which will most likely take forever and a day. But it'll be worth it. They probably are the best dogs you could ever get. And if anyone was wanting a dog but didn't know what kind they should get a lab. I just feel bad because I'd like to get a dog from a shelter or something but they're always mixed and mom wouldn't go for that. Shes picky, I don't know why. Thursday, January 17, 2013
Free Write - 1/17
I really don't know what I would do in the mornings without coffee. For some reason I can't get to bed until it's like one in the morning and it's getting annoying. If it weren't for my coffee I'd be passed out right now. I don't know why but at night I'm really tired and can't fall asleep. So now I've started taking zzzquil and it is the bomb. Seriously. I take it and lay down and for five minutes I think about how it doesn't really work but then boom, it hits me and it's lights out. I have a really bad cold and I can't sleep but when I take this stuff it knocks me out. When I wake up in the morning I'm still laying the same way I was when I passed out. Which is odd for me because usually I toss and turn. And in the mornings I still am able to wake up just fine to my alarm. When I've used other stuff to sleep I'm usually not able to wake up. This one time I couldn't sleep so at 3 in the morning I took 3 tylenol pm and the next day I was almost falling asleep on my way to school. So basically if you can't sleep take zzzquil because it's awesome. What I'm really looking forward to is taking a nap after my last class today until about 4 when I'll have to get up for A&P at 5:30. But then I'll come back home study my menu for work then probably pass out again. I need to start taking iron supplements again because my anemia is making me so tired. I'm just not very good at taking pills on a regular basis. I think they say it takes like 20 days for you to make something a habit, I give it about 3 then end up forgetting to take stuff. I need to do a lot of stuff tonight and get everything done for tomorrow. I have to get a black belt, my black tee shirts, study my menu, buy some more vitamins. But really all I want to do is sleep like usual.
Tuesday, January 15, 2013
free write 1/15
Well today is my first day of classes, and I'm kind of excited for this year because I only have Tues, Thurs classes. Which will be the bomb. Hopefully. The only thing that sucks is that I start this early. I had a wonderful day yesterday, it was my first day job hunting and I got a job serving at like the third place I went to. It's kind of crazy because my friend Alyssa has been job searching for months and still hasn't found one, and shes probably more qualified then me. So I feel kind of bad. But oh well, I need the money. I also have a really bad cold right now and it sucks. I hate this time of year. I'm kind of excited for this class because I already know most of the programs we will be using which should be pretty helpful for me. And this semester I'm not skipping any more class because I did that way too much last year and it didn't turn out too well. Now I only have class twice a week so it'll be a little easier to get here. I hope. But this is my just my first class today and I'm already wanting to go home. Thankfully I'm done until noon, and I can go home and take a nice nap until I have to be back here. I got my nails done yesterday which is kind of exciting because I never do stuff like that but I feel like I deserve it because I got a job. So awesome.........................
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)